Egg White Omelette

Ingredients:

1 large egg

3/4 cup egg whites (store bought)

1 tsp. Smart Balance butter

2 ounces chopped onions (pre-chopped package)

2 ounces white mushrooms chopped (or use your favorite mushroom variety)

1.5 ounces reduced-fat shredded cheddar cheese (reduced-fat mozarella is great as well)

Here’s my first recipe post and it is my go-to breakfast on most mornings when I’m heading to the gym later. High in protein and very tasty and comes in well under 500 calories. I recommend taking your time, if you have it, and prepare this recipe on low heat and be patient. Indeed, I have taught myself to walk away from the pan to avoid hastening the process and burning the omelette or have it break apart.

I do recommend using a non-stick omelette pan. I have a an 11.5-inch non-stick Rachael Ray oval skillet that I swear by.

Here are all of the ingredients you’ll need:

omelette ingredients

Preparation:

I start by adding a tsp of my Smart Balance butter to the pan. I then measure 2 ounces of mushrooms and then roughly chop them into small pieces, adding them to the pan. I then measure 2 ounces of the chopped onions and add that into the pan with the mushrooms and butter.

.mushrooms and onions with tsp of butter in pan

I turn the heat on to medium-high initially just to get the butter melted and the veggies to start cooking and once things start sizzling, I turn the heat down to low. I usually season the veggies with a little salt at this point (use common sense; you know your own blood pressure better than I do). At this point I usually walk away and enjoy my coffee for a few minutes and check back when the mushrooms are lightly browned and the onions translucent and soft.

omelettemmushrooms and onions sauteed

I measure about 3/4 of a cup of egg whites and add in a whole egg and stir together thoroughly, so that the total amount of egg mixture is about one cup.

egg whites and egg mixed together
egg whites and egg mixed together

I add the egg mixture into the pan with the sauteed mushrooms and onions, leaving the heat on low. I then again walk away from the pan for a few minutes, at least five, and let the omelette cook. If you hover, you’ll only rush the omelette and it won’t come out the way you’ll want it. (Trust me, this was a long learning process for me:) Just don’t walk away and totally forget about the omelette cooking on your stove or it will burn to a crisp:)

egg white-egg mixture added to pan
egg white-egg mixture added to pan

Once the omelette looks like it has started to firm, you can test how close it is to being done by running a spatula around the edges.

omeltesting firmness with spatula

If you can tilt the pan and very little liquid runs from the omelette and it pulls easily away from the edges, it’s time to add the cheese.

shreeded cheddar

omelettecheddaradded11

Let the cheese melt and then gently test the firmness of the omelette by gently lifting up one end of the omelette with your spatula. If it at all looks like the omelette still is liquidy or too soft, give it another minute or so.

cheese has melted and omelette is ready

Once you feel confident that omelette is ready, take a deep breath, insert your spatula halfway under the omelette and flip over the one half. It should be firm and a bit golden brown.

omeletteflipped13

With a side of three ounces of fresh blueberries, this is a delicious and filling breakfast!

omeletteplatedwithberries14

This omelette is about 430 calories, with 44 grams of protein, 11 grams of carbs and 21 grams of fat. If you are concerned about the fat, then reduce the cheese to an ounce or even less. The three ounces of fresh blueberries are about 48 calories.

Leave a Reply

